Content provided by

Since December 28th, 2017, a visa-free transit policy has been implemented in Beijing, Tianjin, and Hebei province for foreign passengers from 53 countries who hold both valid international travel documents and a ticket for a connection to a third country (or region) that will leave within 144 hours of their arrival.

In accordance with the provisions of the Ministry of Public Security, a foreign passenger who applies for 144-hour visa free transit must meet the following conditions:

I.Be a citizen of one of the 53 countries qualified by the provisions and hold valid international travel documents that identify their nationality;

II.Hold a ticket for a connection to a third country (or region) that will leave within 144 hours of the passenger's arrival. These may include flight tickets, boat tickets, train tickets, or other relevant certificates;

III.Be staying within the administrative limits of Beijing, Tianjin, and Hebei province, and enter and exit through any of the following checkpoints:

-Beijing Capital International Airport

-Beijing West railway station

-Tianjin Binhai International Airport

-Tianjin International Cruise Home Port

-Shijiazhuang International Airport

-Qinhuangdao Port

Passengers who meet the above conditions and who applied for visa-free transit will be inspected by immigration officers at Beijing Capital International Airport and Beijing West railway station. After everything is confirmed, officers will sign and issue an entry permit for Beijing, Tianjin, and Hebei according to the relevant provisions and then allow passengers to enter the country.

Gentle Reminder:

1.Foreign passengers who are transiting in China under this policy cannot overstay the permitted 144-hours nor travel outside the administrative limits of Beijing, Tianjin, and Hebei province. Passengers who violate these provisions will be handled in accordance with the relevant laws.

2.Foreign passengers who will be staying in China, whether at a hotel or at another kind of accommodation (including your own home, a rented home, an acquaintance's home, etc.), must register their accommodation in accordance with the law. When staying at a hotel, passengers shall register their accommodation at the hotel. When staying at a residence other than a hotel, passengers or the person or persons accommodating them shall, within 24 hours of arriving at the residence, register their accommodation at a nearby public security organ. If the location of the accommodation changes, passengers must register again at a nearby public security organ.

The 144-hour visa-free transit policy applies to the following countries:

Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Russia, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, Albania, Monaco, Belarus, the United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Australia, New Zealand, South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, the United Arab Emirates, and Qatar.