Skip to content

Management Board

In the day-to-day running of the Company, the Chief Executive is supported by the Management Board, the members of which, as at May 21, 2009, were the Chief Financial Officer and:

Robert Boyle

Director of Strategy and Business Units. Joined the airline in 1993 in Corporate Finance, becoming Director of Planning in 2004, Commercial Director from October 2006 until his appointment on January 1, 2009, as Director of Strategy and Business Units.

Garry Copeland

Director of Engineering. Joined the airline in 1989. Having held various positions including Chief Powerplant Engineer and General Manager (GM) Engineering and Quality Services, he became Director of Engineering in September 2006.

Andrew Crawley

Director of Sales and Marketing. Joined the airline in 1992 and has worked in a variety of sales, marketing and operational roles in the UK, Europe and Asia. He became Director of Sales and Marketing on January 1, 2009.

Silla Maizey

Acting Director of Customer. Joined the airline in 1978 and has held various positions in Finance, Customer Service and Operations. Prior to her appointment as Acting Customer Director on January 1, 2009, Silla was Head of Corporate Responsibility.

Tony McCarthy

Director People and Organisational Effectiveness. Joined the airline in December 2007 from Royal Mail.

The members of the Management Board are designated as persons discharging managerial responsibility, along with the 11 directors.

The number of scheduled Board and Committee meetings attended by each director during the year is shown in the table below:

Director Board meetings attended in the period Audit Committees attended in the period Nominations Committees attended in the period Remuneration Committees attended in the period Safety Review Committees attended in the period
Total in the period 7 4 1 3 4
Martin Broughton 7   1    
Willie Walsh 7        
Keith Williams 7        
Maarten van den Bergh 6   1 3 4
Baroness Kingsmill 7 4 1   4
Jim Lawrence 5     3  
Chumpol NaLamlieng 7 2      
Dr Martin Read 7   1 3  
Alison Reed 7 4   3  
Ken Smart 7 4     4
Baroness Symons 7 3     2

On April 1, 2009, Maarten van den Bergh left the Safety Review Committee and joined the Audit Committee.

Details of the directors’ remuneration and share interests are set out in the report of the Remuneration Committee.

back to top