Skip to content

Board of directors

The names and details of the current directors are set out below. All served throughout the financial year ended March 31, 2009.

Board members as at May 21, 2009.


Martin Broughton

Board member since May 2000, becoming non-executive Chairman in July 2004. At the time of his appointment, Martin met the independence criteria set out in paragraph A.3.1 of the Combined Code on Corporate Governance (June 2006). Chairman of the Nominations Committee. Martin is currently President of the Confederation of British Industry (CBI), his term of office is due to end on June 2, 2009.

Chief Executive

Willie Walsh

Executive Board member since May 2005, becoming Chief Executive in October 2005. Formerly Chief Executive of Aer Lingus, he is an honorary board member of Flight Safety International.

Chief Financial Officer

Keith Williams

Executive Board member since January 2006. Having joined the airline in 1998 as Head of Taxation and being additionally appointed Group Treasurer in 2000, Keith was appointed Chief Financial Officer in January 2006. He is a non-executive director of Transport for London. Keith is a chartered accountant.

Non-executive directors

Maarten van den Bergh

Independent non-executive director since 2002, senior independent non-executive director since July 2004. Audit, Nominations and Remuneration Committees. Maarten is Deputy Chairman of BT Group.

Baroness Kingsmill

Independent non-executive director since November 2004. Audit, Nominations and Safety Review Committees. A former Deputy Chairman of the Competition Commission, she chaired the Department of Trade and Industry’s Accounting for People task force. A member of the Microsoft European Policy Council. Adviser to Coutts bank.

Jim Lawrence

Independent non-executive director since November 2006. Remuneration Committee. Jim is Chief Financial Officer of Unilever.

Chumpol NaLamlieng

Independent non-executive director since November 2005. Audit Committee. He is a member of the Board of Directors and Chairman of the Management Advisory Committee of the Siam Cement Public Company Limited, non-executive Chairman of Singapore Telecommunications Ltd and non-executive director of The Siam Commercial Bank Public Co. Ltd.

Dr Martin Read

Independent non-executive director since May 2000. Chairman of the Remuneration Committee. Nominations Committee. Martin was Group Chief Executive of LogicaCMG plc from 1993 to 2007. He is an advisory board member of Siemens Holdings PLC, a senior adviser to HCL Technologies Ltd (India) and a director of the homeless charity Shelter.

Alison Reed

Independent non-executive director since December 2003. Chairman of the Audit Committee. Remuneration Committee. Alison was previously Chief Financial Officer of Marks & Spencer plc and Standard Life plc. She is a chartered accountant.

Ken Smart

Independent non-executive director since July 2005. Chairman of the Safety Review Committee. Audit Committee. Ken is Chairman of the UK Aviation and Maritime Industries Confidential Human Factors Incident Reporting Programme (CHIRP), a member of the Flight Safety Foundation Board of Governors and a Visiting Professor at Cranfield University.

Baroness Symons

Independent non-executive director since July 2005. Audit and Safety Review Committees. Life peer since 1996 and Privy Councillor since 1998. Former Deputy Leader of The House of Lords and Minister of State from 1997 until 2005 when she stepped down from Government. International adviser to DLA Piper, Rio Tinto, Consolidated Contractors Company, MerchantBridge, and non-executive director of Caparo Group.

Company Secretary

Alan Buchanan

Joined the airline in 1990 becoming Company Secretary in April 2000.

All directors are subject to retirement every three years and are eligible for re-election by the shareholders. In accordance with the Company’s Articles of Association, Martin Broughton and Keith Williams will retire and seek re-election by shareholders at the annual general meeting to be held on July 14, 2009. Biographical notes about the directors seeking re-election are set out in the explanatory notes of the Notice of annual general meeting. Chumpol NaLamlieng and Dr Martin Read have decided to retire as Board members when their current three-year terms of office come to an end at the annual general meeting and will therefore not be standing for re-election.

back to top